Riding a bike with Samo DJ

Sam Forsberg is best known for his works on L.I.E.S., The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, and Born Free Records, which he runs with DJ Sling and DJ City. Sam's music can easily work at a prime time in the club setting, as well as the experimental festival. His recent performance at Braille Satellite, where he and his partner Maxxxbass presented their KWC92 project, is another great evidence of such versatility. We spoke with Sam Forsberg to learn about his approach to music and the personality hidden behind his art.

Riding a bike with Samo DJ

Sam Forsberg is best known for his works on L.I.E.S., The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, and Born Free Records, which he runs with DJ Sling and DJ City. Sam's music can easily work at a prime time in the club setting, as well as the experimental festival. His recent performance at Braille Satellite, where he and his partner Maxxxbass presented their KWC92 project, is another great evidence of such versatility. We spoke with Sam Forsberg to learn about his approach to music and the personality hidden behind his art.

Riding a bike with Samo DJ

Sam Forsberg is best known for his works on L.I.E.S., The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, and Born Free Records, which he runs with DJ Sling and DJ City. Sam's music can easily work at a prime time in the club setting, as well as the experimental festival. His recent performance at Braille Satellite, where he and his partner Maxxxbass presented their KWC92 project, is another great evidence of such versatility. We spoke with Sam Forsberg to learn about his approach to music and the personality hidden behind his art.

Riding a bike with Samo DJ

Sam Forsberg is best known for his works on L.I.E.S., The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, and Born Free Records, which he runs with DJ Sling and DJ City. Sam's music can easily work at a prime time in the club setting, as well as the experimental festival. His recent performance at Braille Satellite, where he and his partner Maxxxbass presented their KWC92 project, is another great evidence of such versatility. We spoke with Sam Forsberg to learn about his approach to music and the personality hidden behind his art.

Riding a bike with Samo DJ

Sam Forsberg is best known for his works on L.I.E.S., The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, and Born Free Records, which he runs with DJ Sling and DJ City. Sam's music can easily work at a prime time in the club setting, as well as the experimental festival. His recent performance at Braille Satellite, where he and his partner Maxxxbass presented their KWC92 project, is another great evidence of such versatility. We spoke with Sam Forsberg to learn about his approach to music and the personality hidden behind his art.

Riding a bike with Samo DJ

Sam Forsberg is best known for his works on L.I.E.S., The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, and Born Free Records, which he runs with DJ Sling and DJ City. Sam's music can easily work at a prime time in the club setting, as well as the experimental festival. His recent performance at Braille Satellite, where he and his partner Maxxxbass presented their KWC92 project, is another great evidence of such versatility. We spoke with Sam Forsberg to learn about his approach to music and the personality hidden behind his art.

Riding a bike with Samo DJ

Sam Forsberg is best known for his works on L.I.E.S., The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, and Born Free Records, which he runs with DJ Sling and DJ City. Sam's music can easily work at a prime time in the club setting, as well as the experimental festival. His recent performance at Braille Satellite, where he and his partner Maxxxbass presented their KWC92 project, is another great evidence of such versatility. We spoke with Sam Forsberg to learn about his approach to music and the personality hidden behind his art.

How was the Braille Satellite festival for you?

          It was fun. It’s kind of on a farm. There were about 500 people, 3 stages and very strange music from time to time. I really enjoyed it. There are no sponsors. We are old friends with Matas, who is one of the organizers, so I will also do it next year.

You were performing with the KWC92 project, right? So, let’s start from there. How the duo appeared in the first place?

          Well, me and Max, who I do KWC92 with, we have some friends who wrote a movie and a screenplay a few years ago. The movie takes place in Kowloon Walled City which was a small area of Hong Kong that still belonged to mainland China in the 70s-80s. Then the police tore it down in the 90s. Actually, they've never made a movie, but they published a screenplay, like a book with illustrations. So me and Max decided to make a soundtrack for the screenplay and to call the project the same way the book was called.

Is KWC92 a reflection of your interest in Asian culture?

          Yeah. It’s a kind of soundtrack project. Now, we've made one more record and I don't know what the future records will be.

How was the Braille Satellite festival for you?

          It was fun. It’s kind of on a farm. There were about 500 people, 3 stages and very strange music from time to time. I really enjoyed it. There are no sponsors. We are old friends with Matas, who is one of the organizers, so I will also do it next year.

You were performing with the KWC92 project, right? So, let’s start from there. How the duo appeared in the first place?

          Well, me and Max, who I do KWC92 with, we have some friends who wrote a movie and a screenplay a few years ago. The movie takes place in Kowloon Walled City which was a small area of Hong Kong that still belonged to mainland China in the 70s-80s. Then the police tore it down in the 90s. Actually, they've never made a movie, but they published a screenplay, like a book with illustrations. So me and Max decided to make a soundtrack for the screenplay and to call the project the same way the book was called.

Is KWC92 a reflection of your interest in Asian culture?

          Yeah. It’s a kind of soundtrack project. Now, we've made one more record and I don't know what the future records will be.

How have this passion for Asia appeared?

          I was living in Hong Kong with my girlfriend for 3 years. I was doing some odd jobs here and there. I was a resident DJ in a bar playing commercial music. I was selling records on the Discogs and stuff like that. I didn't really know that much about this part of the world before and then I was exploring the culture from day to day. It’s pretty different from Swedish culture. I mean, what people eat and how close together they live: it's very densely populated. You know, the climate is different and the movies they watch have a completely different style. It’s a nice feeling. You are like a stranger in the city.

With KWC92 you are doing pretty different kind of music. It differs a lot from the sound of Samo DJ, for instance. What mood or person stands behind it?

          Yeah, it didn't really make sense compared to my banging techno tracks. I don't know how to put into words really. The first task was to make a soundtrack to the screenplay. But then, we were, like, feeling the story of the screenplay. And also I find it fun to make a different type of sounds.

How have this passion for Asia appeared?

          I was living in Hong Kong with my girlfriend for 3 years. I was doing some odd jobs here and there. I was a resident DJ in a bar playing commercial music. I was selling records on the Discogs and stuff like that. I didn't really know that much about this part of the world before and then I was exploring the culture from day to day. It’s pretty different from Swedish culture. I mean, what people eat and how close together they live: it's very densely populated. You know, the climate is different and the movies they watch have a completely different style. It’s a nice feeling. You are like a stranger in the city.

With KWC92 you are doing pretty different kind of music. It differs a lot from the sound of Samo DJ, for instance. What mood or person stands behind it?

          Yeah, it didn't really make sense compared to my banging techno tracks. I don't know how to put into words really. The first task was to make a soundtrack to the screenplay. But then, we were, like, feeling the story of the screenplay. And also I find it fun to make a different type of sounds.

What sound do you explore with KWC92?

          Kind of mood-based. It could be something you can listen to just walking in the street at night. Especially the first one. It was definitely about walking around Hong-Kong when it is raining: neon signs and small alleyways, the crackling from the electrical wires, you know, cars going by, someone yelling on the street. This city produces a lot of sounds.

What sound do you explore with KWC92?

          Kind of mood-based. It could be something you can listen to just walking in the street at night. Especially the first one. It was definitely about walking around Hong-Kong when it is raining: neon signs and small alleyways, the crackling from the electrical wires, you know, cars going by, someone yelling on the street. This city produces a lot of sounds.

It seems that you prefer to share the studio with other friends-musicians more than produce music by yourself. What attracts you to that process of collaboration?

          It's the good question. Many people say that I make too many collaborations. I don't know exactly why, but I have an easy time collaborating with many different people. This is just my personality. If you are making music with a different person, you have to agree at some point. I mean, you can't be too stubborn, like: “Oh no! It has to be my way or the highway.” You kind of meet in the middle and then, hopefully, something comes out that is worth listening to. I mean, it can really bring something new to the sound and the process, if you are working with a friend of yours, and the result can be surprising. It could also be that me or my friend has made some sketches and it's kind of hard to finish them by yourself, so you try to do it with another person. And maybe it sounds silly, but it is also pretty fun, just to hang out with a friend of yours as well.

So, the people you work with are mostly your friends.

          Yeah.

How have you teamed up with Tzusing?

          Well, a few years ago, just before Tsuzing put out his first EP on L.I.E.S. records. He was doing a series of parties in Shanghai, where he was living at that time, called Stockholm Syndrome, and he invited me to come from Hong Kong to Shanghai and DJ at the afterparty. I stayed at his house for 5 days and, you know, we were going to eat in the evening, we were pulling around in his studio, so it's kind of the same story as the other ones but in a different place.

It seems that you prefer to share the studio with other friends-musicians more than produce music by yourself. What attracts you to that process of collaboration?

          It's the good question. Many people say that I make too many collaborations. I don't know exactly why, but I have an easy time collaborating with many different people. This is just my personality. If you are making music with a different person, you have to agree at some point. I mean, you can't be too stubborn, like: “Oh no! It has to be my way or the highway.” You kind of meet in the middle and then, hopefully, something comes out that is worth listening to. I mean, it can really bring something new to the sound and the process, if you are working with a friend of yours, and the result can be surprising. It could also be that me or my friend has made some sketches and it's kind of hard to finish them by yourself, so you try to do it with another person. And maybe it sounds silly, but it is also pretty fun, just to hang out with a friend of yours as well.

So, the people you work with are mostly your friends.

          Yeah.

How have you teamed up with Tzusing?

          Well, a few years ago, just before Tsuzing put out his first EP on L.I.E.S. records. He was doing a series of parties in Shanghai, where he was living at that time, called Stockholm Syndrome, and he invited me to come from Hong Kong to Shanghai and DJ at the afterparty. I stayed at his house for 5 days and, you know, we were going to eat in the evening, we were pulling around in his studio, so it's kind of the same story as the other ones but in a different place.

Did you feel that you came back to Sweden as a different person? 

          Yeah, since I was there for such a long time. The mentality of people in South-East Asia is different from Swedish. It was a strange feeling moving back to Europe. It took six months or so to get back to normal for me.

Do you feel comfortable in Sweden, in terms of making music?

          Yeah, it is just, you know, I can’t afford to have a studio. You have to work somehow anyway.

Do you have a regular day-to-day job?

          Not right now. For the last six month, I've been only DJing and stuff. But over the years I've had different ones. I was working for a moving company, carrying furniture all day. Also, I was working at the record shop called Record mania. It's a cool one.

One of your records on Trilogy Tapes called "Kicked Out Of Everywhere." Does the name of it have anything to do with your personal experience?

          Yeah, I was doing skateboarding all my life. I still do it, but not as often as before. The title is from skateboarding movie from the 90s that is actually called "Kicked Out Of Everywhere." Growing up in skateboarding means you get kicked out of different spots you go to. I like the kind of loner feeling of those sentence.

Did you feel that you came back to Sweden as a different person? 

          Yeah, since I was there for such a long time. The mentality of people in South-East Asia is different from Swedish. It was a strange feeling moving back to Europe. It took six months or so to get back to normal for me.

Do you feel comfortable in Sweden, in terms of making music?

          Yeah, it is just, you know, I can’t afford to have a studio. You have to work somehow anyway.

Do you have a regular day-to-day job?

          Not right now. For the last six month, I've been only DJing and stuff. But over the years I've had different ones. I was working for a moving company, carrying furniture all day. Also, I was working at the record shop called Record mania. It's a cool one.

One of your records on Trilogy Tapes called "Kicked Out Of Everywhere." Does the name of it have anything to do with your personal experience?

          Yeah, I was doing skateboarding all my life. I still do it, but not as often as before. The title is from skateboarding movie from the 90s that is actually called "Kicked Out Of Everywhere." Growing up in skateboarding means you get kicked out of different spots you go to. I like the kind of loner feeling of those sentence.

Were you a rebel child?

          Not really, like a bad boy or anything like that. I didn’t run away from home or lived in a squat or something like that. But me and my friends were kind of nerdy about music. Basically, we thought that it was cool or something, more than a typical teenage rebel.

Is it true that once being a 16-year-old teenager you got to a party illegally?

          Yeah, a little bit. It was the first party that me and my friends organized. I wasn't actually allowed to be in the club, because, you know, I was underage. So I was hiding in the basement of the place all daytime and then playing at night.  

You've started partying at a pretty young age. When have you started making music?

          I was making a lot of hip-hop beats when I was a teenager. I had a separate drum machine, MPC, and turntables. I was making beats for a few years and then I sold a sampler. For ten years or so I didn't make any music, but then I bought a computer, like, six years ago, downloaded the music software and started making songs on the computer.

Were you a rebel child?

          Not really, like a bad boy or anything like that. I didn’t run away from home or lived in a squat or something like that. But me and my friends were kind of nerdy about music. Basically, we thought that it was cool or something, more than a typical teenage rebel.

Is it true that once being a 16-year-old teenager you got to a party illegally?

          Yeah, a little bit. It was the first party that me and my friends organized. I wasn't actually allowed to be in the club, because, you know, I was underage. So I was hiding in the basement of the place all daytime and then playing at night.  

You've started partying at a pretty young age. When have you started making music?

          I was making a lot of hip-hop beats when I was a teenager. I had a separate drum machine, MPC, and turntables. I was making beats for a few years and then I sold a sampler. For ten years or so I didn't make any music, but then I bought a computer, like, six years ago, downloaded the music software and started making songs on the computer.

What did your parents think about your passion for music?

          I was mainly living with my father. He just thought that I don't have a future in music or something like this. But, you know, I kind of ignored his advice.

What are your other non-musical hobbies?

          This year I started doing boxing. It is just for exercise. I'm really bad. I'm just smoking cigarettes and drinking beer, but I'm going to do it more and more. So that is the one. Yeah, it's the biggest one.

Is music still your hobby?

          The last year or so it has been making the most of my money so it's more like work, but I try to have it as passionate as possible. I was really excited after the Braille Satellite festival. The whole reason why they do it is not connected to sponsors, industry and the scene. People just love what they do. They have their own scene if you know what I mean.

So this kind of approach to music seems to be appealing to you?

          Yeah, keep it real. I mean, everyone is trying to do it as much as possible. But now the music industry is kind of big, so when you are traveling, you see more and more of this very pragmatic, money side of things. Yeah, I try to keep it real.

What did your parents think about your passion for music?

          I was mainly living with my father. He just thought that I don't have a future in music or something like this. But, you know, I kind of ignored his advice.

What are your other non-musical hobbies?

          This year I started doing boxing. It is just for exercise. I'm really bad. I'm just smoking cigarettes and drinking beer, but I'm going to do it more and more. So that is the one. Yeah, it's the biggest one.

Is music still your hobby?

          The last year or so it has been making the most of my money so it's more like work, but I try to have it as passionate as possible. I was really excited after the Braille Satellite festival. The whole reason why they do it is not connected to sponsors, industry and the scene. People just love what they do. They have their own scene if you know what I mean.

So this kind of approach to music seems to be appealing to you?

          Yeah, keep it real. I mean, everyone is trying to do it as much as possible. But now the music industry is kind of big, so when you are traveling, you see more and more of this very pragmatic, money side of things. Yeah, I try to keep it real.

______
Text: Tanya Voytko
Photo: Vitaliia Zhyriakova

( Latest articles )

Велопрогулка по Стокгольму с Samo DJ

Сэм Форсберг известен работами для таких лейблов, как LIES, The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, а также деятельностью Born Free records, которым он управляет вместе с DJ Sling и DJ City. Музыку Сэма с легкостью можно вписать как в контекст прайм-тайм выступления в клубе, так и в концертную программу экспериментального фестиваля. О последнем свидетельствует недавний концерт на фестивале Braille Satellite, в рамках которого он и его напарник Maxxxbass представили проект KWC92. Мы поговорили с Сэмом Форсбергом, чтобы узнать больше о его подходе к музыке и личности, которая скрывается за творчеством продюсера.

Велопрогулка по Стокгольму с Samo DJ

Сэм Форсберг известен работами для таких лейблов, как LIES, The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, а также деятельностью Born Free records, которым он управляет вместе с DJ Sling и DJ City. Музыку Сэма с легкостью можно вписать как в контекст прайм-тайм выступления в клубе, так и в концертную программу экспериментального фестиваля. О последнем свидетельствует недавний концерт на фестивале Braille Satellite, в рамках которого он и его напарник Maxxxbass представили проект KWC92. Мы поговорили с Сэмом Форсбергом, чтобы узнать больше о его подходе к музыке и личности, которая скрывается за творчеством продюсера.

Велопрогулка по Стокгольму с Samo DJ

Сэм Форсберг известен работами для таких лейблов, как LIES, The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, а также деятельностью Born Free records, которым он управляет вместе с DJ Sling и DJ City. Музыку Сэма с легкостью можно вписать как в контекст прайм-тайм выступления в клубе, так и в концертную программу экспериментального фестиваля. О последнем свидетельствует недавний концерт на фестивале Braille Satellite, в рамках которого он и его напарник Maxxxbass представили проект KWC92. Мы поговорили с Сэмом Форсбергом, чтобы узнать больше о его подходе к музыке и личности, которая скрывается за творчеством продюсера.

Велопрогулка по Стокгольму с Samo DJ

Сэм Форсберг известен работами для таких лейблов, как LIES, The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, а также деятельностью Born Free records, которым он управляет вместе с DJ Sling и DJ City. Музыку Сэма с легкостью можно вписать как в контекст прайм-тайм выступления в клубе, так и в концертную программу экспериментального фестиваля. О последнем свидетельствует недавний концерт на фестивале Braille Satellite, в рамках которого он и его напарник Maxxxbass представили проект KWC92. Мы поговорили с Сэмом Форсбергом, чтобы узнать больше о его подходе к музыке и личности, которая скрывается за творчеством продюсера.

Велопрогулка по Стокгольму с Samo DJ

Сэм Форсберг известен работами для таких лейблов, как LIES, The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, а также деятельностью Born Free records, которым он управляет вместе с DJ Sling и DJ City. Музыку Сэма с легкостью можно вписать как в контекст прайм-тайм выступления в клубе, так и в концертную программу экспериментального фестиваля. О последнем свидетельствует недавний концерт на фестивале Braille Satellite, в рамках которого он и его напарник Maxxxbass представили проект KWC92. Мы поговорили с Сэмом Форсбергом, чтобы узнать больше о его подходе к музыке и личности, которая скрывается за творчеством продюсера.

Велопрогулка по Стокгольму с Samo DJ

Сэм Форсберг известен работами для таких лейблов, как LIES, The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, а также деятельностью Born Free records, которым он управляет вместе с DJ Sling и DJ City. Музыку Сэма с легкостью можно вписать как в контекст прайм-тайм выступления в клубе, так и в концертную программу экспериментального фестиваля. О последнем свидетельствует недавний концерт на фестивале Braille Satellite, в рамках которого он и его напарник Maxxxbass представили проект KWC92. Мы поговорили с Сэмом Форсбергом, чтобы узнать больше о его подходе к музыке и личности, которая скрывается за творчеством продюсера.

Велопрогулка по Стокгольму с Samo DJ

Сэм Форсберг известен работами для таких лейблов, как LIES, The Trilogy Tapes, Public Possession, а также деятельностью Born Free records, которым он управляет вместе с DJ Sling и DJ City. Музыку Сэма с легкостью можно вписать как в контекст прайм-тайм выступления в клубе, так и в концертную программу экспериментального фестиваля. О последнем свидетельствует недавний концерт на фестивале Braille Satellite, в рамках которого он и его напарник Maxxxbass представили проект KWC92. Мы поговорили с Сэмом Форсбергом, чтобы узнать больше о его подходе к музыке и личности, которая скрывается за творчеством продюсера.

Ты только что вернулся с фестиваля Braille Satellite. Расскажи, как все прошло.

          Было весело. Мероприятие проходило на локации, похожей на ферму. В общей сложности собралось около 500 человек. Работало три сцены и время от времени играла странная музыка. Мне очень понравилось. У них нет спонсоров. Я давно дружу с Матасом, который является одним из организаторов и буду играть снова в следующем году.

Ты выступал с проектом KWC92. Давай начнем с этого. Как сформировался дуэт?

          Что ж, у нас с Maксом — моим напарником по KWC92, есть друзья, которые несколько лет назад написали сценарий для фильма. Место действия разворачивается в городе-крепости Коулун, который был небольшим поселением на территории Гонконга. В 70-80-х он все еще принадлежал материковому Китаю, а затем в 90-х его снесла полиция. Вообще, они так и не сняли фильм, но опубликовали свою работу в виде книги с иллюстрациями. Мы с Максом решили записать саундтрек к этому сценарию и назвали проект также, как называлась книга.

KWC92 — это отражение твоего увлечения Азией?

          Да. Это что-то вроде саундтрек-проекта. Сейчас мы записали еще одну пластинку и я пока не знаю, какими могут быть последующие релизы.

Ты только что вернулся с фестиваля Braille Satellite. Расскажи, как все прошло.

          Было весело. Мероприятие проходило на локации, похожей на ферму. В общей сложности собралось около 500 человек. Работало три сцены и время от времени играла странная музыка. Мне очень понравилось. У них нет спонсоров. Я давно дружу с Матасом, который является одним из организаторов и буду играть снова в следующем году.

Ты выступал с проектом KWC92. Давай начнем с этого. Как сформировался дуэт?

          Что ж, у нас с Maксом — моим напарником по KWC92, есть друзья, которые несколько лет назад написали сценарий для фильма. Место действия разворачивается в городе-крепости Коулун, который был небольшим поселением на территории Гонконга. В 70-80-х он все еще принадлежал материковому Китаю, а затем в 90-х его снесла полиция. Вообще, они так и не сняли фильм, но опубликовали свою работу в виде книги с иллюстрациями. Мы с Максом решили записать саундтрек к этому сценарию и назвали проект также, как называлась книга.

KWC92 — это отражение твоего увлечения Азией?

          Да. Это что-то вроде саундтрек-проекта. Сейчас мы записали еще одну пластинку и я пока не знаю, какими могут быть последующие релизы.

С чего началось твое увлечение азиатской культурой?

          Я три года жил в Гонконге со своей девушкой, перебиваясь от одной странной работы к другой — был резидентом в баре, где играл коммерческую музыку, продавал пластинки на Discogs и так далее. Я прежде ничего не знал об этой части света и после переезда начал ежедневно исследовать местную культуру. Она кардинально отличается от шведской. Это прослеживается в том, что едят люди, как плотно заселен город и как близко все живут друг к другу. Здесь совершенно другой климат, люди смотрят другое кино. Было классно чувствовать себя чужаком в этом городе.

Я заметила, что KWC92 очень отличается от всего, что ты делаешь как Samo Dj. Какая личность скрывается за этим проектом?

          Это действительно никак не связано с моими техно-бэнгерами. Мне очень сложно выразить это словами. Изначально задача заключалась в том, чтобы написать саундтрек, но потом мы прониклись этой историей. А еще, меня просто забавляет создавать что-то другое.

С чего началось твое увлечение азиатской культурой?

          Я три года жил в Гонконге со своей девушкой, перебиваясь от одной странной работы к другой — был резидентом в баре, где играл коммерческую музыку, продавал пластинки на Discogs и так далее. Я прежде ничего не знал об этой части света и после переезда начал ежедневно исследовать местную культуру. Она кардинально отличается от шведской. Это прослеживается в том, что едят люди, как плотно заселен город и как близко все живут друг к другу. Здесь совершенно другой климат, люди смотрят другое кино. Было классно чувствовать себя чужаком в этом городе.

Я заметила, что KWC92 очень отличается от всего, что ты делаешь как Samo Dj. Какая личность скрывается за этим проектом?

          Это действительно никак не связано с моими техно-бэнгерами. Мне очень сложно выразить это словами. Изначально задача заключалась в том, чтобы написать саундтрек, но потом мы прониклись этой историей. А еще, меня просто забавляет создавать что-то другое.

Какое звучание вы исследуете с KWC92?

          Оно базируется на настроении. Это может быть что-то, что можно услышать, гуляя по улицам ночью. Например, первая пластинка была о прогулке по Гонконгу во время дождя: неоновые вывески, маленькие переулки, треск электрических проводов, машины, проезжающие мимо и крики людей на улицах. Этот город производит очень много звуков.

Какое звучание вы исследуете с KWC92?

          Оно базируется на настроении. Это может быть что-то, что можно услышать, гуляя по улицам ночью. Например, первая пластинка была о прогулке по Гонконгу во время дождя: неоновые вывески, маленькие переулки, треск электрических проводов, машины, проезжающие мимо и крики людей на улицах. Этот город производит очень много звуков.

Мне показалось, что ты чаще предпочитаешь делить студию с другими музыкантами, чем писать музыку самостоятельно. Что привлекает тебя в процессе сотрудничества?

          Хороший вопрос. Многие люди говорят, что я делаю слишком много коллабораций. Не знаю почему, но мне легко работать в паре с разными людьми. В этом моя особенность. Когда ты создаешь музыку в паре с другим человеком, вам нужно прийти к соглашению в какой-то момент. Ты не можешь упрямиться и говорить: «Либо по-моему, либо никак». Вы находите золотую середину и из этого, возможно, потом выйдет что-то стоящее. Совместная работа с другом привносит новизну в процесс или звучание, поэтому результат может получится неожиданным. Бывает и так, что есть наброски, которые проще закончить с кем-то. А еще, это может прозвучать глупо, но сотрудничество — очень веселый способ проводить время с друзьями.

Значит, люди, с которыми ты сотрудничаешь — это в основном твои друзья?

          Да.

А как вы объединились с Tsuzing?

          Несколько лет назад перед тем, как выпустить свой первый сингл на лейбле L.I.E.S, Tsuzing организовывал серию вечеринок в Шанхае, где он тогда жил. Вечеринки назывались Stockholm Syndrome. Он предложил мне приехать из Гонконга в Шанхай и поиграть на афтепати. Я остался у него дома на пять дней, мы ходили ужинать вместе и развлекались у него в студии. Все происходило по тому же сценарию, только в другом месте.

Мне показалось, что ты чаще предпочитаешь делить студию с другими музыкантами, чем писать музыку самостоятельно. Что привлекает тебя в процессе сотрудничества?

          Хороший вопрос. Многие люди говорят, что я делаю слишком много коллабораций. Не знаю почему, но мне легко работать в паре с разными людьми. В этом моя особенность. Когда ты создаешь музыку в паре с другим человеком, вам нужно прийти к соглашению в какой-то момент. Ты не можешь упрямиться и говорить: «Либо по-моему, либо никак». Вы находите золотую середину и из этого, возможно, потом выйдет что-то стоящее. Совместная работа с другом привносит новизну в процесс или звучание, поэтому результат может получится неожиданным. Бывает и так, что есть наброски, которые проще закончить с кем-то. А еще, это может прозвучать глупо, но сотрудничество — очень веселый способ проводить время с друзьями.

Значит, люди, с которыми ты сотрудничаешь — это в основном твои друзья?

          Да.

А как вы объединились с Tsuzing?

          Несколько лет назад перед тем, как выпустить свой первый сингл на лейбле L.I.E.S, Tsuzing организовывал серию вечеринок в Шанхае, где он тогда жил. Вечеринки назывались Stockholm Syndrome. Он предложил мне приехать из Гонконга в Шанхай и поиграть на афтепати. Я остался у него дома на пять дней, мы ходили ужинать вместе и развлекались у него в студии. Все происходило по тому же сценарию, только в другом месте.

          

Чувствовал ли ты, что вернулся из Гонконга обратно в Швецию другим?

          Да. Я провел там довольно много времени и вернулся с немного другим мироощущением. У людей в Юго-Восточной Азии другая ментальность, отличная от шведской, поэтому меня одолевало странное чувство, когда я приехал обратно. Мне понадобилось шесть месяцев, чтобы вернуться к нормальной жизни.

Тебе комфортно заниматься музыкой в Стокгольме?

          Да, но дело в том, что я не могу позволить себе иметь студию. В любом случае необходимо иметь работу.

А ты не работаешь?

          Сейчас нет. Последние шесть месяцев я занимаюсь только музыкой. Но на протяжении многих лет, я работал в разных местах. Например, в транспортной компании, которая занималась переездами. Я перетаскивал мебель целыми днями. Еще я работал в одном классном рекорд шопе — Record mania.

Помню твою пластинку на Trilogy Tapes «Kicked Out Of Everywhere». Название основано на твоем личном опыте?

          Я всю жизнь занимался скейтбордингом и до сих пор катаюсь. Правда не так часто, как прежде. Название пластинки я позаимствовал из одного фильма про скейтбординг, который вышел в 90-х. Он так и назывался — «Kicked Out Of Everywhere». Тех, кто воспитывается на культуре скейтбординга часто выгоняют с разных локаций. Мне нравится чувство одиночества, которое скрывается в этом предложении.

          

Чувствовал ли ты, что вернулся из Гонконга обратно в Швецию другим?

          Да. Я провел там довольно много времени и вернулся с немного другим мироощущением. У людей в Юго-Восточной Азии другая ментальность, отличная от шведской, поэтому меня одолевало странное чувство, когда я приехал обратно. Мне понадобилось шесть месяцев, чтобы вернуться к нормальной жизни.

Тебе комфортно заниматься музыкой в Стокгольме?

          Да, но дело в том, что я не могу позволить себе иметь студию. В любом случае необходимо иметь работу.

А ты не работаешь?

          Сейчас нет. Последние шесть месяцев я занимаюсь только музыкой. Но на протяжении многих лет, я работал в разных местах. Например, в транспортной компании, которая занималась переездами. Я перетаскивал мебель целыми днями. Еще я работал в одном классном рекорд шопе — Record mania.

Помню твою пластинку на Trilogy Tapes «Kicked Out Of Everywhere». Название основано на твоем личном опыте?

          Я всю жизнь занимался скейтбордингом и до сих пор катаюсь. Правда не так часто, как прежде. Название пластинки я позаимствовал из одного фильма про скейтбординг, который вышел в 90-х. Он так и назывался — «Kicked Out Of Everywhere». Тех, кто воспитывается на культуре скейтбординга часто выгоняют с разных локаций. Мне нравится чувство одиночества, которое скрывается в этом предложении.

Ты был бунтарем в детстве?

          Не совсем. Я не был плохим парнем, не сбегал из дому и не жил в сквоте. Мы с друзьями были музыкальными задротами и, честно говоря, думали, что это круто. Это было чем-то большим, чем обычный подростковый протест.

А правда, что, будучи шестнадцатилетним подростком, ты нелегально пробрался на вечеринку в один из клубов в Стокгольме?

          Да, почти. Это была первая вечеринка, которую я организовал со своими друзьями. Мне было запрещено находиться в клубе, так как я был моложе допустимого возраста. Поэтому я прятался в подвале весь день, а ночью выходил играть.  

Ты начал ходить на вечеринки и играть в достаточно раннем возрасте. А когда ты начал заниматься продюсированием?

          Я писал хип-хоп биты, когда был подростком. У меня была драм-машина, MPC и вертушки. Я писал биты, а потом просто продал сэмплер и десять лет не занимался музыкой. Шесть лет назад я купил компьютер, скачал музыкальный софт и начал писать.

Ты был бунтарем в детстве?

          Не совсем. Я не был плохим парнем, не сбегал из дому и не жил в сквоте. Мы с друзьями были музыкальными задротами и, честно говоря, думали, что это круто. Это было чем-то большим, чем обычный подростковый протест.

А правда, что, будучи шестнадцатилетним подростком, ты нелегально пробрался на вечеринку в один из клубов в Стокгольме?

          Да, почти. Это была первая вечеринка, которую я организовал со своими друзьями. Мне было запрещено находиться в клубе, так как я был моложе допустимого возраста. Поэтому я прятался в подвале весь день, а ночью выходил играть.  

Ты начал ходить на вечеринки и играть в достаточно раннем возрасте. А когда ты начал заниматься продюсированием?

          Я писал хип-хоп биты, когда был подростком. У меня была драм-машина, MPC и вертушки. Я писал биты, а потом просто продал сэмплер и десять лет не занимался музыкой. Шесть лет назад я купил компьютер, скачал музыкальный софт и начал писать.

А как родители относились к твоему увлечению?

          В основном я жил со своим отцом. Он считал, что у меня нет музыкального будущего, но, знаешь, я как-то проигнорировал его слова.

Есть ли у тебя еще увлечения не связанные с музыкой?

          В этом году я начал заниматься боксом просто для поддержания формы. Я веду не совсем правильный образ жизни — курю сигареты и пью пиво, но собираюсь тренироваться больше и больше. Да, думаю это главное увлечение.

Продюсирование и диджеинг для тебя сейчас работа или хобби?

          В последний год музыка составляет большую часть моего дохода, потому это стало скорее работой. Несмотря ни на что, я стараюсь делать так, чтобы творчество не превращалось в рутину. Я был очень восхищен фестивалем Braille Satellite. Основная причина, по которой они занимаются организацией фестиваля никак не связана со спонсорами и индустрией. Эти люди просто любят свое дело и у них есть своя сцена, если ты понимаешь о чем я.

Ты разделяешь их ценности?

          Да, они настоящие и искренние. Я много путешествую и часто вижу обратную сторону вещей — прагматичную и коммерческую. Поэтому я тоже стараюсь быть собой.

А как родители относились к твоему увлечению?

          В основном я жил со своим отцом. Он считал, что у меня нет музыкального будущего, но, знаешь, я как-то проигнорировал его слова.

Есть ли у тебя еще увлечения не связанные с музыкой?

          В этом году я начал заниматься боксом просто для поддержания формы. Я веду не совсем правильный образ жизни — курю сигареты и пью пиво, но собираюсь тренироваться больше и больше. Да, думаю это главное увлечение.

Продюсирование и диджеинг для тебя сейчас работа или хобби?

          В последний год музыка составляет большую часть моего дохода, потому это стало скорее работой. Несмотря ни на что, я стараюсь делать так, чтобы творчество не превращалось в рутину. Я был очень восхищен фестивалем Braille Satellite. Основная причина, по которой они занимаются организацией фестиваля никак не связана со спонсорами и индустрией. Эти люди просто любят свое дело и у них есть своя сцена, если ты понимаешь о чем я.

Ты разделяешь их ценности?

          Да, они настоящие и искренние. Я много путешествую и часто вижу обратную сторону вещей — прагматичную и коммерческую. Поэтому я тоже стараюсь быть собой.

______
Текст: Таня Войтко
Фото: Вита Жирякова

( Еще статьи )