Exploring Tokyo with Mystica Tribe

Japanese electronic scene has always been a magnet for music lovers all over the world. Being a kind of Mecca for diggers with countless record shops, it became a must-visit spot on the map of club tourism and produced a whole bunch of talented artists over the last decade. One of them is Taka Noda aka Mystica Tribe.

Exploring Tokyo with Mystica Tribe

Japanese electronic scene has always been a magnet for music lovers all over the world. Being a kind of Mecca for diggers with countless record shops, it became a must-visit spot on the map of club tourism and produced a whole bunch of talented artists over the last decade. One of them is Taka Noda aka Mystica Tribe.

Exploring Tokyo with Mystica Tribe

Japanese electronic scene has always been a magnet for music lovers all over the world. Being a kind of Mecca for diggers with countless record shops, it became a must-visit spot on the map of club tourism and produced a whole bunch of talented artists over the last decade. One of them is Taka Noda aka Mystica Tribe.

Exploring Tokyo with Mystica Tribe

Japanese electronic scene has always been a magnet for music lovers all over the world. Being a kind of Mecca for diggers with countless record shops, it became a must-visit spot on the map of club tourism and produced a whole bunch of talented artists over the last decade. One of them is Taka Noda aka Mystica Tribe.

Exploring Tokyo with Mystica Tribe

Japanese electronic scene has always been a magnet for music lovers all over the world. Being a kind of Mecca for diggers with countless record shops, it became a must-visit spot on the map of club tourism and produced a whole bunch of talented artists over the last decade. One of them is Taka Noda aka Mystica Tribe.

Exploring Tokyo with Mystica Tribe

Japanese electronic scene has always been a magnet for music lovers all over the world. Being a kind of Mecca for diggers with countless record shops, it became a must-visit spot on the map of club tourism and produced a whole bunch of talented artists over the last decade. One of them is Taka Noda aka Mystica Tribe.

Exploring Tokyo with Mystica Tribe

Japanese electronic scene has always been a magnet for music lovers all over the world. Being a kind of Mecca for diggers with countless record shops, it became a must-visit spot on the map of club tourism and produced a whole bunch of talented artists over the last decade. One of them is Taka Noda aka Mystica Tribe.

          Taka has been engaged in music for the whole life, making his way from a bassist in a rock band to an electronic producer. Influenced by early dub and reggae, soul, and rhythm and blues, he has conjured a unique sound, delving into psychedelic spaces between dub and techno. Taka has never lived outside of Japan, nor has he relished crazy popularity among European bookers. However, with releases on Dutch SD Records, Canadian Silent Season and his own eponymous imprint, he has gained recognition of genuine diggers and collectors around the globe. British musician Auntie Flo used Taka’s music for his acts; Pangaea, the founder of Hessle Audio, included the track "His Temple" into his Fabriclive compilation; and Juno highlighted Taka’s debut album – “Island Oasis” - as one of the best vinyl albums of 2017, along with Kendrick Lamar, Helena Hauff and Four Tet.

 

          We met with Taka in Shimokitazawa, a cozy district in Eastern Tokyo, which the locals tenderly call Shimokita. Narrow streets, cute coffee shops and vintage stores add charm to this neighborhood, distanced from the crowded downtown. While searching for the right subway exit (one out of more than two hundred at one station), the first question popped up: how did Taka manage to develop his distinct sound which strikingly contrasts with the atmosphere of the surrounding city. The flowing, burst-free album called “Island Oasis,” released last year on Silent Season, is the complete opposite of the ever-rushing Tokyo.

          Taka has been engaged in music for the whole life, making his way from a bassist in a rock band to an electronic producer. Influenced by early dub and reggae, soul, and rhythm and blues, he has conjured a unique sound, delving into psychedelic spaces between dub and techno. Taka has never lived outside of Japan, nor has he relished crazy popularity among European bookers. However, with releases on Dutch SD Records, Canadian Silent Season and his own eponymous imprint, he has gained recognition of genuine diggers and collectors around the globe. British musician Auntie Flo used Taka’s music for his acts; Pangaea, the founder of Hessle Audio, included the track "His Temple" into his Fabriclive compilation; and Juno highlighted Taka’s debut album – “Island Oasis” - as one of the best vinyl albums of 2017, along with Kendrick Lamar, Helena Hauff and Four Tet.

 

          We met with Taka in Shimokitazawa, a cozy district in Eastern Tokyo, which the locals tenderly call Shimokita. Narrow streets, cute coffee shops and vintage stores add charm to this neighborhood, distanced from the crowded downtown. While searching for the right subway exit (one out of more than two hundred at one station), the first question popped up: how did Taka manage to develop his distinct sound which strikingly contrasts with the atmosphere of the surrounding city. The flowing, burst-free album called “Island Oasis,” released last year on Silent Season, is the complete opposite of the ever-rushing Tokyo.

          After only five-minutes chat, Taka makes a clear impression of modest and pacified person, pondering every word before uttering it. He claims that living in stressful metropolis can cause a reversed effect, and his music should be perceived without any reference to the place: it does not seem out of place on the dancefloor, as well as the quietest corner of our planet.

"I have to travel a lot around Japan for work, and ideas are floating in the process of observing its picturesque landscapes. Earlier, I could be influenced by the music of other artists, but now I prefer to reflect more and borrow nothing. I draw inspiration from everyday life, communicating with people and watching their emotions."

          We approached the record shop called Disk Union. Inside an outwardly unremarkable building, an impressive number of shelves filled with records is arranged as in a huge supermarket. Taka was quickly sliding in between, showing his favorite entries from his collection, like Manhattans or The Moments, simultaneously admitting being a fan of Philly soul (Philadelphian soul music of the 70s).

          Soul music had a pronounced influence on Taka’s work and accompanied the musician throughout his life. "When I was a kid, my father, sister and I were fond of listening to "Saturday Night Fever" soundtrack. We always played it in father's car. Until now, I listen to it from time to time. I was surprised when I discovered that Philly soul compositions were included in it."

          After only five-minutes chat, Taka makes a clear impression of modest and pacified person, pondering every word before uttering it. He claims that living in stressful metropolis can cause a reversed effect, and his music should be perceived without any reference to the place: it does not seem out of place on the dancefloor, as well as the quietest corner of our planet.

"I have to travel a lot around Japan for work, and ideas are floating in the process of observing its picturesque landscapes. Earlier, I could be influenced by the music of other artists, but now I prefer to reflect more and borrow nothing. I draw inspiration from everyday life, communicating with people and watching their emotions."

          We approached the record shop called Disk Union. Inside an outwardly unremarkable building, an impressive number of shelves filled with records is arranged as in a huge supermarket. Taka was quickly sliding in between, showing his favorite entries from his collection, like Manhattans or The Moments, simultaneously admitting being a fan of Philly soul (Philadelphian soul music of the 70s).

          Soul music had a pronounced influence on Taka’s work and accompanied the musician throughout his life. "When I was a kid, my father, sister and I were fond of listening to "Saturday Night Fever" soundtrack. We always played it in father's car. Until now, I listen to it from time to time. I was surprised when I discovered that Philly soul compositions were included in it."

          Inspired by the music of Bo Diddley and Sam Cook, he played bass in various bands, and once even formed his own called "Goldmine." Taka uses this acquired experience for creating music today: "I begin with live instruments - bass, synthesizer and melodica, - and then continue working on the computer. I think that each of these approaches has its own pros, so I try to combine them. I don’t build a track around a riff. Firstly, I write an intro, and then just improvise. I guess it goes this way because, initially, I'm not a producer with elaborate methods and established techniques. I use the style and the skills that I've learned from being in the rock band."

         In the early 2000s, along with the rest of the band, Taka didn’t have enough time for joint work, so he started looking for alternative ways of pursuing his musical career. After meeting a friend who was involved in electronic music, Taka realized that this genre allows one to be completely independent, so he immersed himself in it entirely. Unfortunately, while working full-time, he have limited time for the music, which he produces in his tiny, by European standards, studio. Most artists elsewhere can’t make a living with only music career, and Japan is no exception.

          On the way to the next record store, Taka told us about his Mystica Tribe label. "At first, I had an idea to gather artists from other Asian countries: Vietnam, Thailand, China, and then integrate them into Europe. However, the main difficulty was not about reaching Europe, but rather setting connections with Asian producers." After many unsuccessful attempts, he gave up on this venture. Today Taka releases only his own music on the label.

"If you want to create your own stuff, with a unique idea, and preserve original style, you have to do it by yourself. I wasn’t eager to be released on any other label and lose myself in its tone. Thus, I created Mystica Tribe Records."

          Meanwhile, we came to one of Taka's favorite places called City Country City. Local musicians often spend weekends in this cozy cafe with a small vinyl shop, where boxes of records are placed near the large stained-glass windows, and only three or four tables can fit into this pocket-sized cafeteria. There is also a pile of flyers pointing at perpetual cultural affluence of Tokyo.

          Inspired by the music of Bo Diddley and Sam Cook, he played bass in various bands, and once even formed his own called "Goldmine." Taka uses this acquired experience for creating music today: "I begin with live instruments - bass, synthesizer and melodica, - and then continue working on the computer. I think that each of these approaches has its own pros, so I try to combine them. I don’t build a track around a riff. Firstly, I write an intro, and then just improvise. I guess it goes this way because, initially, I'm not a producer with elaborate methods and established techniques. I use the style and the skills that I've learned from being in the rock band."

         In the early 2000s, along with the rest of the band, Taka didn’t have enough time for joint work, so he started looking for alternative ways of pursuing his musical career. After meeting a friend who was involved in electronic music, Taka realized that this genre allows one to be completely independent, so he immersed himself in it entirely. Unfortunately, while working full-time, he have limited time for the music, which he produces in his tiny, by European standards, studio. Most artists elsewhere can’t make a living with only music career, and Japan is no exception.

          On the way to the next record store, Taka told us about his Mystica Tribe label. "At first, I had an idea to gather artists from other Asian countries: Vietnam, Thailand, China, and then integrate them into Europe. However, the main difficulty was not about reaching Europe, but rather setting connections with Asian producers." After many unsuccessful attempts, he gave up on this venture. Today Taka releases only his own music on the label.

"If you want to create your own stuff, with a unique idea, and preserve original style, you have to do it by yourself. I wasn’t eager to be released on any other label and lose myself in its tone. Thus, I created Mystica Tribe Records."

          Meanwhile, we came to one of Taka's favorite places called City Country City. Local musicians often spend weekends in this cozy cafe with a small vinyl shop, where boxes of records are placed near the large stained-glass windows, and only three or four tables can fit into this pocket-sized cafeteria. There is also a pile of flyers pointing at perpetual cultural affluence of Tokyo.

"Despite many problems," Taka continued, "underground music in Japan is currently undergoing better times. Many Japanese DJs and producers are actively working abroad, unlike the recent past. Foreign artists come to Tokyo every weekend. The club audience is adult and conscious. Nevertheless, there is a serious problem - the lack of young listeners and enthusiasts. It is an obvious fact."

 

"Despite many problems," Taka continued, "underground music in Japan is currently undergoing better times. Many Japanese DJs and producers are actively working abroad, unlike the recent past. Foreign artists come to Tokyo every weekend. The club audience is adult and conscious. Nevertheless, there is a serious problem - the lack of young listeners and enthusiasts. It is an obvious fact."

 

          Most cultural fields and industrial sectors in Japan face the same problem - the overall aging of the nation. Now that population declines and income is not growing, the Japanese market is getting smaller.

          "For club culture and underground music to endure in the future, we need to solve this issue. Despite the increasing variety of events, the number of people attending parties in Tokyo has decreased in comparison to the 90s. The audience is getting older. And what I’m worried about the most is that the youth is showing less interest in Japanese underground scene."

          Most cultural fields and industrial sectors in Japan face the same problem - the overall aging of the nation. Now that population declines and income is not growing, the Japanese market is getting smaller.

          "For club culture and underground music to endure in the future, we need to solve this issue. Despite the increasing variety of events, the number of people attending parties in Tokyo has decreased in comparison to the 90s. The audience is getting older. And what I’m worried about the most is that the youth is showing less interest in Japanese underground scene."

          ‘Traditional’ art will always have its supporters. Japanese opera or classical music, for instance, are highly acclaimed around the world, that’s why the problem in this context is not so tangible. However, the things are not so rosy when it comes to other artistic fields.

          "Less people are buying tickets for events. Lower ticket sales equal less money earned. Smaller income leads to poorer production. It turns out that, consequently, the number of musicians is declining. In Tokyo, large-scale events are held along the smaller ones, but there is no stable dynamics of growth and development of the scene. Because of this contradiction, the industry is not as attractive as it might seem at a first glance."

          Although Taka has stopped collecting records, the last place he invited us to was the record shop that he has been regularly visiting for the past 25 years, just to listen to music and look through the new arrivals.

"Collecting takes a lot of time and requires money, and I'm focused on writing music at the moment. I want my music to become a bridge between people, I want to play in different places, cities and countries, meet new people. This is the main thing that I’m willing to do for now.”

          Talking about dream spots to perform at, there are two of them for Taka: Germany, with the largest concentration of dance music, and England, which is being the tacit birthplace of dub. In our turn, we wish all dreams of this humble and sincere guy to come true.

          ‘Traditional’ art will always have its supporters. Japanese opera or classical music, for instance, are highly acclaimed around the world, that’s why the problem in this context is not so tangible. However, the things are not so rosy when it comes to other artistic fields.

          "Less people are buying tickets for events. Lower ticket sales equal less money earned. Smaller income leads to poorer production. It turns out that, consequently, the number of musicians is declining. In Tokyo, large-scale events are held along the smaller ones, but there is no stable dynamics of growth and development of the scene. Because of this contradiction, the industry is not as attractive as it might seem at a first glance."

          Although Taka has stopped collecting records, the last place he invited us to was the record shop that he has been regularly visiting for the past 25 years, just to listen to music and look through the new arrivals.

"Collecting takes a lot of time and requires money, and I'm focused on writing music at the moment. I want my music to become a bridge between people, I want to play in different places, cities and countries, meet new people. This is the main thing that I’m willing to do for now.”

          Talking about dream spots to perform at, there are two of them for Taka: Germany, with the largest concentration of dance music, and England, which is being the tacit birthplace of dub. In our turn, we wish all dreams of this humble and sincere guy to come true.

______

Text: Maya Baklanova

( Latest articles )

Прогулка по Токио с Mystica Tribe

Япония всегда вызывала к себе неукротимый интерес со стороны музыкального сообщества. Являясь Меккой для диггеров благодаря разнообразию рекорд-шопов, а для заядлых тусовщиков — обязательной точкой на карте клубного туризма, за последний десяток лет японская сцена произвела на свет целую плеяду талантливых артистов. Среди них и наш герой Така Нода, скрывающийся за псевдонимом Mystica Tribe.

Прогулка по Токио с Mystica Tribe

Япония всегда вызывала к себе неукротимый интерес со стороны музыкального сообщества. Являясь Меккой для диггеров благодаря разнообразию рекорд-шопов, а для заядлых тусовщиков — обязательной точкой на карте клубного туризма, за последний десяток лет японская сцена произвела на свет целую плеяду талантливых артистов. Среди них и наш герой Така Нода, скрывающийся за псевдонимом Mystica Tribe.

Прогулка по Токио с Mystica Tribe

Япония всегда вызывала к себе неукротимый интерес со стороны музыкального сообщества. Являясь Меккой для диггеров благодаря разнообразию рекорд-шопов, а для заядлых тусовщиков — обязательной точкой на карте клубного туризма, за последний десяток лет японская сцена произвела на свет целую плеяду талантливых артистов. Среди них и наш герой Така Нода, скрывающийся за псевдонимом Mystica Tribe.

Прогулка по Токио с Mystica Tribe

Япония всегда вызывала к себе неукротимый интерес со стороны музыкального сообщества. Являясь Меккой для диггеров благодаря разнообразию рекорд-шопов, а для заядлых тусовщиков — обязательной точкой на карте клубного туризма, за последний десяток лет японская сцена произвела на свет целую плеяду талантливых артистов. Среди них и наш герой Така Нода, скрывающийся за псевдонимом Mystica Tribe.

Прогулка по Токио с Mystica Tribe

Япония всегда вызывала к себе неукротимый интерес со стороны музыкального сообщества. Являясь Меккой для диггеров благодаря разнообразию рекорд-шопов, а для заядлых тусовщиков — обязательной точкой на карте клубного туризма, за последний десяток лет японская сцена произвела на свет целую плеяду талантливых артистов. Среди них и наш герой Така Нода, скрывающийся за псевдонимом Mystica Tribe.

Прогулка по Токио с Mystica Tribe

Япония всегда вызывала к себе неукротимый интерес со стороны музыкального сообщества. Являясь Меккой для диггеров благодаря разнообразию рекорд-шопов, а для заядлых тусовщиков — обязательной точкой на карте клубного туризма, за последний десяток лет японская сцена произвела на свет целую плеяду талантливых артистов. Среди них и наш герой Така Нода, скрывающийся за псевдонимом Mystica Tribe.

Прогулка по Токио с Mystica Tribe

Япония всегда вызывала к себе неукротимый интерес со стороны музыкального сообщества. Являясь Меккой для диггеров благодаря разнообразию рекорд-шопов, а для заядлых тусовщиков — обязательной точкой на карте клубного туризма, за последний десяток лет японская сцена произвела на свет целую плеяду талантливых артистов. Среди них и наш герой Така Нода, скрывающийся за псевдонимом Mystica Tribe.

          Всю сознательную жизнь Така занимается музыкой, пройдя путь от басиста в рок-группе до электронного продюсера. Находясь под влиянием раннего даба и регги, соула и ритм-энд-блюза, он выработал уникальный саунд, исследуя психоделические пространства между дабом и техно. Така никогда не жил за пределами Японии и не пользовался широкой популярностью среди европейских букеров. Однако имея за плечами релизы на голландском SD Records, канадском Silent Season и собственном одноименном лейбле, он завоевал широкое признание среди подлинных диггеров и коллекционеров по всему миру. Его музыку использует британский музыкант Auntie Flo; основатель Hessle Audio Pangaea включает его трек «His Temple» в свой сборник Fabriclive, а Juno отмечает его дебютный Island Oasis в подборке лучших виниловых альбомов 2017 года, наряду с Кендриком Ламаром, Хеленой Хауфф и Four Tet.

 

          Мы встретились с Така в уютном районе на востоке Токио — Симо-Китадзава. Узкие улочки, миловидные кофейни, винтажные магазины и отсутствие больших толп близлежащего центра добавляют обаяния этому району, который местные ласково называют Симокита. В процессе поиска нужного выхода из метро, которых в Токио можно насчитать более двух сотен на станции, у нас назрел вопрос — как ему удалось выработать свой исключительный саунд, который поразительно контрастирует с окружающим его городом. Текучий, без надрыва альбом Island Oasis, который вышел в прошлом году на канадском лейбле Silent Season, является полной противоположностью вечно бегущего Токио.

          Всю сознательную жизнь Така занимается музыкой, пройдя путь от басиста в рок-группе до электронного продюсера. Находясь под влиянием раннего даба и регги, соула и ритм-энд-блюза, он выработал уникальный саунд, исследуя психоделические пространства между дабом и техно. Така никогда не жил за пределами Японии и не пользовался широкой популярностью среди европейских букеров. Однако имея за плечами релизы на голландском SD Records, канадском Silent Season и собственном одноименном лейбле, он завоевал широкое признание среди подлинных диггеров и коллекционеров по всему миру. Его музыку использует британский музыкант Auntie Flo; основатель Hessle Audio Pangaea включает его трек «His Temple» в свой сборник Fabriclive, а Juno отмечает его дебютный Island Oasis в подборке лучших виниловых альбомов 2017 года, наряду с Кендриком Ламаром, Хеленой Хауфф и Four Tet.

 

          Мы встретились с Така в уютном районе на востоке Токио — Симо-Китадзава. Узкие улочки, миловидные кофейни, винтажные магазины и отсутствие больших толп близлежащего центра добавляют обаяния этому району, который местные ласково называют Симокита. В процессе поиска нужного выхода из метро, которых в Токио можно насчитать более двух сотен на станции, у нас назрел вопрос — как ему удалось выработать свой исключительный саунд, который поразительно контрастирует с окружающим его городом. Текучий, без надрыва альбом Island Oasis, который вышел в прошлом году на канадском лейбле Silent Season, является полной противоположностью вечно бегущего Токио.

          После пяти минут общения становится ясно — Така производит впечатление очень сдержанного и умиротворенного человека, обдумывая каждое слово, прежде чем его произнести. Он утверждает, что жизнь в стрессовом мегаполисе может вдохновлять на совершенно противоположные вещи, а его музыку стоит воспринимать без привязки к месту: она своевременна как на танцполе, так и в самом тихом и укромном уголке нашей планеты.

«Работая, мне приходится много путешествовать по Японии и, в процессе наблюдения за ее живописными пейзажами, рождаются идеи. Раньше, я иногда вдохновлялся музыкой других исполнителей, но сейчас предпочитаю больше думать и ничего не заимствовать. Я черпаю вдохновение из повседневной жизни, от общения с людьми и наблюдением за их эмоциями».

          Мы подошли к рекорд-шопу под названием Disk Union. Внешне непримечательное здание, внутри напоминает большой супермаркет с внушительным количеством стеллажей с пластинками. Така принялся быстро лавировать меж рядов, показывая любимые записи из своей коллекции вроде Manhattans и The Moments, признаваясь, что является большим поклонником philly soul (филадельфийской соул-музыки 70-х).

          Соул-музыка имеет ярко выраженное влияние в его творчестве и сопровождает музыканта на всех этапах жизненного пути. «Когда я был ребенком, я очень любил слушать с отцом и сестрой саундтрек к фильму «Лихорадка субботнего вечера». Он всегда играл в автомобиле моего отца. До сих пор я периодически его переслушиваю. И как же я был удивлен, когда обнаружил что в нем есть philly soul композиции». 

          После пяти минут общения становится ясно — Така производит впечатление очень сдержанного и умиротворенного человека, обдумывая каждое слово, прежде чем его произнести. Он утверждает, что жизнь в стрессовом мегаполисе может вдохновлять на совершенно противоположные вещи, а его музыку стоит воспринимать без привязки к месту: она своевременна как на танцполе, так и в самом тихом и укромном уголке нашей планеты.

«Работая, мне приходится много путешествовать по Японии и, в процессе наблюдения за ее живописными пейзажами, рождаются идеи. Раньше, я иногда вдохновлялся музыкой других исполнителей, но сейчас предпочитаю больше думать и ничего не заимствовать. Я черпаю вдохновение из повседневной жизни, от общения с людьми и наблюдением за их эмоциями».

          Мы подошли к рекорд-шопу под названием Disk Union. Внешне непримечательное здание, внутри напоминает большой супермаркет с внушительным количеством стеллажей с пластинками. Така принялся быстро лавировать меж рядов, показывая любимые записи из своей коллекции вроде Manhattans и The Moments, признаваясь, что является большим поклонником philly soul (филадельфийской соул-музыки 70-х).

          Соул-музыка имеет ярко выраженное влияние в его творчестве и сопровождает музыканта на всех этапах жизненного пути. «Когда я был ребенком, я очень любил слушать с отцом и сестрой саундтрек к фильму «Лихорадка субботнего вечера». Он всегда играл в автомобиле моего отца. До сих пор я периодически его переслушиваю. И как же я был удивлен, когда обнаружил что в нем есть philly soul композиции». 

          Вдохновляясь музыкой Бо Дидли и Сэма Кука, он играл на бас-гитаре в различных группах, а однажды даже сформировал свою собственную — «Goldmine». Этот приобретенный опыт Така применяет в создании музыки сегодня: «Написание трека я начинаю с живых инструментов — баса, синтезатора и мелодики, а после перехожу к работе с компьютером. Я думаю, что у каждого из этих подходов есть свои преимущества и я это комбинирую. Я не беру часть рифа и не строю трек вокруг него. Сначала я пишу интро, а дальше импровизирую. Думаю все получается так потому, что я не продюсер и не имею отточенной техники. Я пользуюсь стилем и навыками, наработанными в рок-группе».

         В начале 2000-х у него и у остальных участников группы не хватало времени на совместное творчество и Така задумался о том, как продолжить свою музыкальную карьеру. Однажды, встретив друга, который был вовлечен в электронную музыку, он понял, что в этом направлении он может быть полностью независим от других людей. Так началась его карьера электронного музыканта. К сожалению, работая полный рабочий день, посвящать себя музыке он может ограниченное количество времени, которое проводит в своей крошечной, по европейским меркам, студии. Следует сказать, что не все музыканты могут зарабатывать себе на жизнь своим творчеством, и Япония в этом случае не является исключением. 

          Прогуливаясь к следующему рекорд-шопу, Така рассказал нам о своем лейбле Mystica Tribe. «Сперва идеей его создания послужила мысль собрать артистов из других азиатских стран: Вьетнам, Таиланд, Китай и после интегрироваться в Европу. Но сложность заключалась не в том, чтобы попасть в Европу, а в том, чтобы наладить связь с азиатскими продюсерами». После неудачных попыток он бросил эту затею. Сегодня на своем лейбле Така издает только собственную музыку.

«Если ты хочешь делать собственный стафф, со своей уникальной идеей, и сохранить свой стиль, ты должен делать это собственными силами. Я не хотел выпускаться на каком-то лейбле и потерять себя там. И потому я создал Mystica Tribe Records».

          По дороге мы наткнулись на одно из любимых заведений Така под названием City Country City. В этом уютном кафе с небольшим виниловым магазином внутри Така и другие музыканты проводят время на выходных. Возле больших витражных окон расположены коробки с винилом, а чуть дальше — камерный кафетерий с тремя или четырьмя столиками. На стене у входа расположился стенд с большим количеством флаеров, как свидетельство неутихающего культурного изобилия Токио.

          Вдохновляясь музыкой Бо Дидли и Сэма Кука, он играл на бас-гитаре в различных группах, а однажды даже сформировал свою собственную — «Goldmine». Этот приобретенный опыт Така применяет в создании музыки сегодня: «Написание трека я начинаю с живых инструментов — баса, синтезатора и мелодики, а после перехожу к работе с компьютером. Я думаю, что у каждого из этих подходов есть свои преимущества и я это комбинирую. Я не беру часть рифа и не строю трек вокруг него. Сначала я пишу интро, а дальше импровизирую. Думаю все получается так потому, что я не продюсер и не имею отточенной техники. Я пользуюсь стилем и навыками, наработанными в рок-группе».

         В начале 2000-х у него и у остальных участников группы не хватало времени на совместное творчество и Така задумался о том, как продолжить свою музыкальную карьеру. Однажды, встретив друга, который был вовлечен в электронную музыку, он понял, что в этом направлении он может быть полностью независим от других людей. Так началась его карьера электронного музыканта. К сожалению, работая полный рабочий день, посвящать себя музыке он может ограниченное количество времени, которое проводит в своей крошечной, по европейским меркам, студии. Следует сказать, что не все музыканты могут зарабатывать себе на жизнь своим творчеством, и Япония в этом случае не является исключением. 

          Прогуливаясь к следующему рекорд-шопу, Така рассказал нам о своем лейбле Mystica Tribe. «Сперва идеей его создания послужила мысль собрать артистов из других азиатских стран: Вьетнам, Таиланд, Китай и после интегрироваться в Европу. Но сложность заключалась не в том, чтобы попасть в Европу, а в том, чтобы наладить связь с азиатскими продюсерами». После неудачных попыток он бросил эту затею. Сегодня на своем лейбле Така издает только собственную музыку.

«Если ты хочешь делать собственный стафф, со своей уникальной идеей, и сохранить свой стиль, ты должен делать это собственными силами. Я не хотел выпускаться на каком-то лейбле и потерять себя там. И потому я создал Mystica Tribe Records».

          По дороге мы наткнулись на одно из любимых заведений Така под названием City Country City. В этом уютном кафе с небольшим виниловым магазином внутри Така и другие музыканты проводят время на выходных. Возле больших витражных окон расположены коробки с винилом, а чуть дальше — камерный кафетерий с тремя или четырьмя столиками. На стене у входа расположился стенд с большим количеством флаеров, как свидетельство неутихающего культурного изобилия Токио.

«Несмотря на большое количество проблем, — говорит Така, — в настоящее время андеграундная музыка в Японии переживает лучшие времена. Многие японские диджеи и продюсеры активно работают за рубежом, чего не было раньше. Каждые выходные в Токио приезжают иностранные артисты. Аудитория, которая посещает клубы, является взрослой и осознанной. С другой стороны, есть серьезная проблема — нехватка молодых слушателей и энтузиастов. Это неоспоримый факт». 

 

«Несмотря на большое количество проблем, — говорит Така, — в настоящее время андеграундная музыка в Японии переживает лучшие времена. Многие японские диджеи и продюсеры активно работают за рубежом, чего не было раньше. Каждые выходные в Токио приезжают иностранные артисты. Аудитория, которая посещает клубы, является взрослой и осознанной. С другой стороны, есть серьезная проблема — нехватка молодых слушателей и энтузиастов. Это неоспоримый факт». 

 

          «Чтобы у клубной культуры и андеграундной музыки было будущее, нам необходимо решить эту проблему. Несмотря на изобилие мероприятий, в сравнении с 90-ми количество людей в Токио, которые ходят на вечеринки, уменьшилось. Аудитория становится старше и старше. Больше всего меня тревожит, что все меньше молодых людей проявляют интерес к андеграундной сцене Японии».

          «Чтобы у клубной культуры и андеграундной музыки было будущее, нам необходимо решить эту проблему. Несмотря на изобилие мероприятий, в сравнении с 90-ми количество людей в Токио, которые ходят на вечеринки, уменьшилось. Аудитория становится старше и старше. Больше всего меня тревожит, что все меньше молодых людей проявляют интерес к андеграундной сцене Японии».

          В отношении традиционного искусства — тут всегда найдутся сторонники. Например, японская опера или классическая музыка является образцом для всего мира, и проблема в этом контексте не так ощутима. Но, что касается других направлений — в Японии все не так радужно.

          «Все меньше людей покупают билеты на мероприятия. Меньше билетов — меньше денег. Меньше заработок — хуже продакшн. Выходит, что в итоге количество музыкантов сокращается. В Токио есть очень большие мероприятия и совсем маленькие, и нет никакой стабильной динамики развития сцены. Из-за этого противоречия между двумя частями одного мира, все в сущности является не таким привлекательным, как может показаться на первый взгляд».

          Хоть Така и перестал коллекционировать пластинки, последнее место, куда он нас пригласил — это рекорд шоп, который он регулярно посещает последние 25 лет просто для того, чтобы послушать музыку и отыскать новинки.

«Коллекционирование забирает много времени и денег, а я же сосредоточен на написании музыки. Я хочу использовать свою музыку как связующее звено между людьми, я хочу играть в разных местах, городах и странах, встречать новых людей. Это главное, чем я хочу сейчас заниматься».

          На вопрос, где бы он хотел побывать, Така с неподдельным желанием ответил, что мечтает выступить в Германии, потому что сегодня там наибольшая концентрация танцевальной музыки. И в Англии — потому, что это негласная родина даба. А мы, в свою очередь загадываем, чтобы все желания этого скромного и душевного парня сбылись.

          В отношении традиционного искусства — тут всегда найдутся сторонники. Например, японская опера или классическая музыка является образцом для всего мира, и проблема в этом контексте не так ощутима. Но, что касается других направлений — в Японии все не так радужно.

          «Все меньше людей покупают билеты на мероприятия. Меньше билетов — меньше денег. Меньше заработок — хуже продакшн. Выходит, что в итоге количество музыкантов сокращается. В Токио есть очень большие мероприятия и совсем маленькие, и нет никакой стабильной динамики развития сцены. Из-за этого противоречия между двумя частями одного мира, все в сущности является не таким привлекательным, как может показаться на первый взгляд».

          Хоть Така и перестал коллекционировать пластинки, последнее место, куда он нас пригласил — это рекорд шоп, который он регулярно посещает последние 25 лет просто для того, чтобы послушать музыку и отыскать новинки.

«Коллекционирование забирает много времени и денег, а я же сосредоточен на написании музыки. Я хочу использовать свою музыку как связующее звено между людьми, я хочу играть в разных местах, городах и странах, встречать новых людей. Это главное, чем я хочу сейчас заниматься».

          На вопрос, где бы он хотел побывать, Така с неподдельным желанием ответил, что мечтает выступить в Германии, потому что сегодня там наибольшая концентрация танцевальной музыки. И в Англии — потому, что это негласная родина даба. А мы, в свою очередь загадываем, чтобы все желания этого скромного и душевного парня сбылись.

______
Текст: Майя Бакланова
Фото: Виталия Жирякова

( Еще статьи )